Listening to your body in the “now”

I was going to move on and start talking about thinking about our future selves however this week I have been finding some things out that I thought would be worth sharing.

Butterfly on pink

If you follow this blog regularly you will know that the doctor had identified that I need to do something about my blood pressure. I am determined to manage this without drugs.

As a result I got myself a home monitor and have been meditating, eating right and exercising with a focus on cardio. The good news is I am getting there! I have a way to go yet however there is definite improvement.

The reason I mention this is because of something I noticed this week. I took a measurement in the middle of my work day. I had been dealing with something I found irritating. Suddenly my BP was right up in the “red” zone almost 20 points above my normal average!

I noticed that I was also about to feel my increased pulse and heart rate without the monitor. I decided to do an experiment.

I took five minutes to centre myself and breathe. I then took the measurement again. My BP was back to my new norm. This was really interesting biofeedback. Since then I have been playing with consciously managing my emotional state on a more regular basis.

As a personality type I do have a tendency to get “wound up” by small things. I am a lot more relaxed than in previous years however that tendency is still there. This experience has bought home to me how sometimes our reactions to petty things can be a block to maintaining our optimum health. This was not really news to me but a good reminder.

This is where mindfulness meets every day living. Rather than treating mindfulness as something one does for twenty minutes a day embrace mindful living.

The lesson for me personally?IMG_4138_ daisy edited-1_edited-1

It is okay to get angry, upset or worried, these are valid emotions. What I need to let go of is over reacting to things that don’t warrant a strong reaction. I need to listen to my body.

As an aside, often when we overeat we have stopped listening to our bodies. Your body will tell you when you are full or if something is not good for you, you just need to listen. Too often we have switched off our mind body connection.

Are you listening to your body? What do you need to pay attention to?

Next week, who knows what I’ll write about for now I’m present with right here!

 

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in Positive Psychology, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listening to your body in the “now”

  1. Johann Holt says:

    This is really interesting Melody thank you. I have been experiencing some symptoms recently whenever I change position/get out of a chair etc, including dizziness and light headedness, the sensation of seeing stars and it passes in a few minutes. I was assuming it would be low blood pressure so was looking up what to do about it and had started meditating in the garden to ensure I was relaxing properly. Upping my cardio exercise was next on the list.

Leave a Reply

