Being Present with life. Is it just about the good stuff?

I love the way things in our life seem to reflect what is most useful to us even when we don’t realise it.

Yesterday evening I was feeling really unwell. As for many women of my age, my body is re-adjusting to the next phase of my life. For me this sometimes means several hours of feeling unwell every couple of months.

I have to tell you, I was feeling really sorry for myself. I ended up going to bed early and focusing on my misery. This is something I have noticed before. It is really easy to stay present with discomfit and pain!

The only thing I thought about was how I was feeling. I had few or no intruding thoughts or distractions. I was 100% in the moment.

Is this what we mean by living in the “now”!

Many people have a perception of living the now as being about peaceful stillness and communing with nature. Developing a sense of serenity and well being.

buttercups

Practicing mindfulness is not really just about when we feel relaxed and at peace. We can be present and totally focused on doing a mundane task. This can allow us to access peace and acceptance.

But what about being mindful or present with unpleasant things?

Last night I wallowed in my pain and actually it was okay. There have been times when I’ve been feeling more resourceful when I’ve asked my body what it needs and listened to the response. Interestingly when I do that I usually move through the pain quicker.

This morning with just a little residual tension I was beginning to feel better. It was then that I noticed that I have not experienced any hay fever symptoms since yesterday. Did I just forget to manifest that while being present with a different experience? Or has my allergen just moved past the pollen stage? Perhaps it was the change in the weather? What do you think?

These are ramblings today and that’s okay, I’m just going with whatever wants to be written without editing.

Next week I will move on to talking more about being present and mindful in more pleasurable ways. As always I would love to have your comments and thoughst.

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in Positive Psychology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being Present with life. Is it just about the good stuff?

  1. Jo Coulson says:

    Hi Melody,
    I do hope you are feeling better.
    I find this an interesting point. As I sit here in my car waiting for the RAC man to (hopefully) fix my car so I can get home, I have been totally focusing on the now. I started off thinking about all the things that I will have to rearrange tomorrow, then when I started thinking about the impact of no car next week, I knew it was time to come back to the now. And since, I have been enjoying the peace, the beautiful evening (I’m in a Park carpark) and am listening to the wind in the trees & the bird song. It is my opinion that any intense feeling or emotion forces congruency of the head, heart & stomach brains to concentrate on the now. Maybe it’s because they are congruent in the moment that the feeling / emotion is so intense? I’m guessing that when a lady is in the process of giving birth, she is in the now & likewise when she holds her baby for the first time, she is still in the now but a very different now.
    I’m drifting into the future now, in the hope that my future is in the shape if an orange van & a very nice man!

Leave a Reply

