Being here, now. What does that really mean?

How many of you noticed that I missed writing my blog last week I wonder? Well I didn’t notice until Wednesday!

Last week I was on holiday in Somerset and I got caught up in the experience. I got so caught up that I totally forgot about my blog. I was enjoying every moment of wandering around Cheddar Gorge and Glastonbury.

Joe and I last visited Glastonbury at the beginning of our relationship over twenty years ago. We were living in the moment but paradoxically also living in the moment of that first visit all those years before.

So were we really in the “now”?

If you read about this topic you will be encouraged to purely focus on your sensory world in the here and now. What can you see, hear, feel, experience? What tactile sensations are you noticing? Your thoughts are about being “present” with the experience.

For many of us this is challenging. We might start evaluating our experience or thinking about someone we intend to share it with later. So last week when I was enjoying my experience I was constantly flowing in and out of the state of “now”.

As a species we are easily distracted and maybe we are just in denial when we talk about having the attention span of a goldfish as if that is not normal for human beings.

Interestingly enough the place I find it easiest to be in the now is watching my fish in the pond. I find I can look at the fish and watch them swim round, distracting thoughts disappear and I relax fully. For me this is a form of meditation. The practice of mediation and the practice of mindfulness are two ways we can learn to stop our busy hurry, hurry lives to recharge our batteries.

I’ll talk more about this in the coming weeks. For now consider this. Living 100% in the now might be tempting however it might result in a lack of consideration for the consequences of a present action or inaction.

For me last week this manifested in me forgetting to blog. In the scheme of things not a big deal. However there are other things in life perhaps require us to use our uniquely human ability of being able to predict the consequences of our actions.

What do you think?

I plan to sit here now watching the fish in my garden in sunny Crowborough, East Sussex. Until next week. pond

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in Positive Psychology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

