Using your strengths to give you direction

How did you get on looking at your own strengths? Did you use the on-line questionnaire or did you work out your own labels? Did you rely on your own analysis or did you ask for feedback from others?

All of these questions give you further clues about how you understand and recognise your own strengths.

rain on May flowers

 

I decided to do the on-line questionnaire again. Most of my strengths came out in a very similar order and did make sense to me. My top five are:

  1. Capacity to love and be loved.
  2. Love of learning
  3. Hope, optimism and future mindedness
  4. Perspective (wisdom)
  5. Appreciation of beauty and excellence

For me the development of the capacity to love and be loved has been very much a learning curve. This is something I found challenging before I began my personal development journey over twenty years ago. I was distrustful of others and often found myself drawn to people who were unhealthy for me.

It is a great comfort to me to know that now I have the ability to recognise the people who truly do love me and I am able to express my love in a healthy, positive way. I find that leading workshops gives me a sense of that expression to a wider audience than I ever expected. For me it is important when my students make personal breakthroughs.

Strengths two and five are no surprise at all and if you have been following my blog you probably know this about me already. Strengths three and four also support my own sense of self and my life purpose. I get great joy from helping others connect to hope and optimism. Helping people recognise that there is power in enjoying and appreciating now and being future minded aligns with my life mission.

Our past does not equal our future, if we learn the lessons, let go of the pain and acknowledge our strengths we have the power to unlock our potential.

buttercups

What are your top five strengths? How do they help you in aligning to your life purpose?

Do let me know.

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in Positive Psychology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Using your strengths to give you direction

  1. Tivo says:

    Love of being, becoming and from there acting.
    Love of learning, updating, modelling and applying.
    Love of aesthetics.
    Love of connection and belonging.
    Love of childlike fascination, mystery, miracles and being exquisitely surprised in every moment.

Leave a Reply

