Being your authentic self

Firstly, apologies for the lateness of my post this week. I’ve been on a retreat in a remote location without wifi! Amazing how dependent we get.

I was supporting on a workshop called Point of Mastery, an amazing opportunity to help people connect with their own sense of purpose and their authentic self.

So I’m taking a break from my continuing series to share some thoughts about my experience with you.

I was able to spend some time reflecting on what is important to me and to check that I am on track. My purpose is:

“To inspire others to step into their full potential and to realise that they are already magnificent!”

This blog is for me one way I have to reach people across the world and my intention is to provide ideas that people can actually use rather than dangling the promise of help that can only be accessed by paying money.

That said my real joy comes from working with people face to face on my workshops and in personal support sessions.

This weekend was a confirmation for me that I am on the right track. I watched with awe as people faced their personal dragons and stepped into their power. It reminded me that as a species we do need others. When we have the loving support of others we can risk being vulnerable and thus stepping into our true authentic self safely.

We can gain support from others in this electronic world via the various media and I heartily encourage you to do that however the magic can really happen when we spend time with others in a nurturing way.

Find some ways to take your personal development journey with others. Check for local groups that feel appropriate for you. It there isn’t one consider starting your own group.

If you don’t have a trained facilitator you can get one of the many self help books out there and work through the exercises together, give each other feed back and support.  We also need someone to lovingly hold up a mirror to us to help us realise when we are getting in our own way.

For such a group to be successful you need to set up some clear boundaries that ensure that your interactions really are supportive and neither negative or enabling.

(if any of you want some advice on guidelines for making such groups safe let me know and I’ll send you some guidelines).

For those of you looking for a more structured approach led by professional facilitators I would like to make some recommendations. The first is a workshop called the Turning Point. This is the one that transformed my life over twenty years ago. There is a workshop running in London starting on Thursday and others in Sussex later in the year. Here’s the link

http://www.turningpointcourses.com

Alternatively if you would like to attend a workshop with me I still have a few places available on our free two day introduction to NLP this month in Sussex. I like to be straight forward with people, it is a marketing tool. We hope you will sign up for the full NLP Diploma and later the full Practitioner course. I believe in working with integrity therefore the sales pitch is low key and it is okay to do just the free workshop.

If you would like a free MP3 audio to get a flavour of how we work click on the link below where you will also find details of the free workshop.

Www.gwiznlp.com

 

 

 

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in Life in General, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

