The Importance of Support in your Weight Loss Journey

Firstly for those of you who are wondering, our issue of last week is resolved and we now have our new home secured. So the stress that was beginning to trigger a desire to overeat has passed and I can reflect even more objectively on my experience. It did feel like something has changed inside and the desire was low and barely had an impact.

How have I made these changes?

A good question! In considering this I have also reflected on the many comments and stories that you have shared with me. Many people sent me personal words of support and love. It was a great reminder to me about the importance of support. It really made a difference talking and writing about my experience.

An important part of this process for me was acknowledging that I was starting feel the desire to overeat and binge. By naming it and sharing that with others I released myself from the secrecy and reducing the impulse.

As a species we are a social animal and we do better when we have support from others. The type of support we get however is vital. We need to find people who will support us in a positive and helpful way. Sometimes those we are nearest to want to support us but are inadvertently reinforcing all the old patterns. This may be by providing “helpful” criticism or by offering comments about loving you anyway.

For this reason I suggest you take stock of where you get your support from, while not wanting to reject those we love it is also important that you protect yourself from unhelpful messages no matter how well meaning they are.

Finding groups of like minded people may be the best way to start and this is why support groups are so popular. When we have shared experiences it helps us to feel more accepted and loved. We can share our experiences with others and feel understood.

The important thing about any group is to ensure it continues to provide an environment of growth. Sometimes over time a group just becomes a place to stay stuck so constant review is also key.

The internet is now providing new ways to find like minded people and is certainly a place to start. I suggest you go back and read some of the comments people have left on my blog and perhaps add some of your own. I also began a number of conversations on Linkedin, all of these were very positive and worth engaging in.

Finding a professional to support you can also be a bonus, perhaps even a team of professionals. Perhaps a fitness coach, a nutritional expert and someone to help you with the emotional side of things such as an NLP Practitioner or Hypnotherapist.

Either way be certain to get into the habit of reaching out to others particularly if your eating is associated with negative feelings. If you talk to someone you make find your desire to overeat reduces.

I’m keeping the blog short this week as I’m in the middle of teaching my Hypnotherapy programme to a very keen group of people so I’ll say goodbye for now. Do let me know your thoughts about the best way to find support on your journey. And do leave a comment if you are needing advice on how to find a support group for yourself.

 

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in NLP, NLP Master Practitioner, NLP Practitioner, NLP Trainer's Training, Personal Development, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Importance of Support in your Weight Loss Journey

  1. Rachel Dando says:

    Support and openness are essential in any process in which you are making a change…it allows for you and others to gain clarity about what you are trying to achieve which in turn makes a positive outcome more likely.

    • Helen Watson says:

      Hi Melody, Totally agree about finding positive and helpful support. For me one of the keys this year to finally loosing weight , after about 15 years of trying , has been having positive and helpful support. I signed up for 12 sessions with a personal trainer/ nutritional therapist. I know that going to him kept me on track. I had paid him money so didn’t want to waste that and also there was element of turning up and being weighed and not wanting to let him/ myself down. At the end of the 12 weeks I was still 1 stone short of my target weight. I knew what to do (the diet and exercise prog that worked for me) so I thought I could do it alone and anyway couldn’t afford any more sessions. Well i didn’t put on any weight but i didn’t lose any either. I beat myself up about this. Then my daughter , who decided the time was right for her to lose weight, suggested we get together and weigh each other once a week. We also support each other on the phone/ text. And now i am losing again. I want to support her and she is following the diet and exercise prog I was given. She’s losing faster than me though!

  2. Well done on your successes!

Leave a Reply

