Age is just a number!

This week I am interrupting my series to write about a different topic for one week only. What has prompted this you may wonder?

Well this week was my birthday and I was 50! Now I am always excited about my birthday and have fun with it. I received lots of lovely messages on both facebook and twitter as well as cards and calls. It was a lovely feeling.

Then I noticed mixed in with these messages a couple of well meaning comments that had a different flavour to them. A few people reassured me that it was okay to be 50 and that life goes on. Some almost commiserated with me.

This is so interesting, firstly consider this the alternative to reaching 50 is not very positive!

This then led me to reflect on conversations I have had with many people over the years. People who were “devastated” to reach particular milestone. For some the terrible number was 30, others 40, 50 or 60.

I then thought about myself at an earlier time of my life. I started my personal development journey when I was 29 years old. Before that I had a very different attitude to age. I remember reaching 21 and thinking it was all over! I was worried because I was not married and thought it meant I never would be. I had fears of being on the “shelf”. I had low self esteem and did not love myself at all. I was convinced I had to take what I could get.

This is what led me to end up in a marriage that lacked nurturing and love. It was abusive emotionally and eventually physically.

When I hear people talking about their own age or life as if there is no joy up ahead it saddens me and also makes me determined to stay focussed on my own personal mission.

 I believe we all have the ability to be the best that we can be. I believe that the reason I had 29 years of misery was to give me the knowledge, experience and understanding of what that feels like. This in turn helps me to help other people.

Whatever age you are reading this blog take a moment to reflect, you can choose today to take the next smallest step toward making your life even more extraordinary. Believe me you are already extraordinary it is just that some of you don’t know that yet.

If the age thing is a fear of your own mortality there is a truth worth embracing. Worrying has little impact on the final “deadline”. So if that is true you might as well enjoy every day and live it as if it is your last – make it count. Do things that make you happy, spend time with people you love and take each day as a blessed bonus.

If you read this and find it hard perhaps you need to reach out. One thing I know for sure, when we start to transform our lives we often need the help and support of others. Sometimes we don’t know where to start or lack the tools to get going. Sometimes we just need to know someone out there cares.

I know that for me reaching out to others was an essential part of the journey and for the first two years that was particularly important. Yes I said two years. For people with low self esteem it is a step by step process. First you need to accept that you have value as a human being. After that you can start confronting, challenging and changing your own personal limitations and barriers. With every barrier you overcome your self esteem moves up a notch higher.

If you need help getting started talk to me, I want to help. Reach out to people around you, find groups to plug into. Download my free MP3 on improving self esteem using NLP.

http://www.gwiztraining.com/

You can use the same link to find out about our one day workshop “Your Brilliant You!”

There are many other people out there running workshops, groups and individual sessions, if what I offer does not appeal find someone who does.

What I wish for you is the courage to take this step if you need to, you have the power to be the driver in your own life.

Write to me with your comments and thoughts. If you are on the journey already share what has worked for you. If you are wanting to get started I’ll do my best to help you.

Next week I will resume my series about relationships, until then, have a great day being extraordinary!

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in Emotional Awareness, Emotional Intelligence, Life in General, NLP, Perception, Reality, Self Esteem and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

