Self Esteem, A Personal Story

Several people have asked me to write about self esteem and as this is close to my heart I intend to write a series of blogs over the next few months.  I consider myself the poster girl for what it means to transform low self esteem to a higher, healthy level. For the first 29 years of my life I had low self esteem and I was probably mildly depressed that whole time. I was in an abusive marriage, a dead end job and did not have any sense of self worth. My only comfort came from my dogs.

 For many people who transform their lives there comes a point when they say to themselves, “there must be more to life than this!” For me this happened when I was 29 and I attended a personal development workshop called the “Turning Point”. The name was apt for me, it gave me a whole new perspective and started me off on my journey. BTW this workshop is still around and you can check it out with “soulpurposeint” in my Twitter followers list. This workshop helped me make a major paradigm shift in recognising not only my own value but the value of others too. As a result I changed my entire life, leaving the abusive marriage and dead end job, going to university to study psychology, setting up my own business and most importantly of all forming a healthy relationship with a new partner, Joe. Joe and I have now been married nearly 17 years.

 I have spent a great deal of my energy over the last 20 years helping other people make that shift in perception about their own self worth and it is something that brings me great personal joy seeing others blossom. Over the years I have gathered together many tools to offer as a coach, trainer, supervisor and therapist. Several years ago I took a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology and for my dissertation I explored how it was possible to use NLP to improve self esteem and well being. This will be the topic of my next blog.

 For those of you who would like to get a head start you can take a peak at both my pilot study and my full dissertation on our website:

  http://www.gwiztraining.com/ArticlesNLP.htm

 Future blogs will look at understanding self esteem, relationships, strategies to build self esteem, confidence, assertiveness and more. If you have a particular question do leave it as a comment below. I will do my best to blog about all questions posed.

About Melody @ GWizlearning

Melody spent fourteen years gathering experience of the business world working in banking, telecommunications and the public sector before co-founding The GWiz Learning Partnership in 1993. Melody has a Masters Degree in Applied Positive Psychology, a degree in Psychology and a diploma in Psychotherapy. She is an NLP Master Trainer which allows her to run NLP Practitioner, NLP Master Practitioner and NLP Trainer Training courses certified by the Positive School of Intrinsic Neuro-Linguistc Psychology. She is also a qualified Myers Briggs practitioner and EI practitioner and added to all this is five years Transactional Analysis training, meaning she is able to help organisations access the hidden potential in their staff. She is also in demand for her work in transforming average or even troubled teams into high performers. Melody is a visiting lecturer at University of East London, teaching "Wellbeing and Positive Psychology" to undergraduates. Additionally, she is a member of the CIPD and is ILM accredited. Melody's interests are many and varied. She has a keen interest in personal development, canine and wolf psychology, conservation, movies and running. She also enjoys western horse riding, walking the GWiz dogs, nature watching and stage combat (particularly sword fighting).
This entry was posted in Life in General, Self Esteem. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self Esteem, A Personal Story

  1. I am currently on my journey from very low self esteem to believing I have any worth. It’s slow but I am getting there. Thank you for a great blog post and I look forward to future ones :0)

  2. Kate Burton says:

    Hello, I think it’s really powerful and honest to share your own story, Melody, and show people that it really is possible to transform your life. All great leaders show their vulnerability and connect with people at a deeper level. Yet ‘m really taken with how hard people find it, particularly in business, to own up to struggling with confidence and self-esteem issues.

    all good wishes, Kate

Leave a Reply

